Share your location with iPhone
Share your location with friends, family members, and other trusted contacts in Find My, Messages, and Maps. You can share your current location once, temporarily share your location on the way to an expected destination, or share your ongoing Live Location.
Different ways to share your location
With iPhone, you can share your location with family and friends to keep in touch, coordinate around an event, or know when a family member has arrived home. You can share in different apps — and you can choose what location information to share.
Share once
In Messages or Maps, you can share a one-time view of where you are right now.
Share on the way
In Maps, you can share your estimated time of arrival (ETA), including your turn-by-turn directions. In Messages, you can use Check In to share your location if you don't arrive at your destination as expected.
Share ongoing
In Find My or Messages, you can share your Live Location to make it even easier to stay connected. You can choose to share your ongoing location for an hour, until the end of the day, or indefinitely.
Some location sharing options require iOS 17. If you don't see an option, update your iPhone to the latest software version.
Share your current location once
You can share your current location as a snapshot in Messages or Maps. The person who you share with sees only that location, and they won't be able to follow you as you move.
Drop a pin in Messages
Open a conversation or start a new message.
Tap the , then tap Location.
Tap the in the corner. Tap Send Pin, then send your message.
When you drop a pin, you share only that current location. The person that you shared with can't see your ongoing location as you move.
Share a pin in Maps
In the Maps app, scroll down to Share My Location.
Tap Share My Location.
Choose how to share your pin, for example, with a contact in Messages.
Share your location on the way to a destination
When you're on the way somewhere, you can share your location in Maps or start a Check In session in Messages.
Share your ETA in Maps
You can share your estimated time of arrival (ETA) while following driving, cycling, or walking directions. When you share your ETA, you share your Live Location. This means the person that you shared with can follow your movements in real time, including all the stops along your route while navigating.
Let your family and friends know you've arrived with Check In
You can use Check In to automatically notify a family member, friend, or other trusted contact that your iPhone has arrived or your activity is complete. You can also choose what details they can see if you don’t successfully complete your Check In.
Check In doesn't automatically share your location. Your location is shared only if there's an unexpected delay during your trip or activity and you're unresponsive.
If your iPhone doesn't arrive at the destination as expected, Check In notifies your trusted contact, shares your current location, and shares the network signal and battery details of your iPhone. You can also share more information, including the route that you traveled.
After you end the Check In, that location might continue to be shared with your trusted contact for a short time. Your ongoing location is not shared.
Share your ongoing location in real time
You can share your Live Location — which lets friends and family follow your ongoing location in real-time — in either Find My or Messages. With Live Location, people that you've shared your location with can even get a sense of the direction that you're traveling in and how fast you're going.
Regardless of which app that you start from, your location is shared in the same ways.
To share Live Location, both you and the person that you’re sharing with need an iPhone with iOS 15 or later.
Start sharing your ongoing location using Find My
In Find My, tap the Me tab and turn on Share My Location.
Tap the People tab, tap the , then tap Share My Location to add a friend and start sharing your location. If you're part of a Family Group, you can see your family members who have chosen to share their location.
Choose to share your location for an hour, until the end of the day, indefinitely, or a custom time period.
Learn more about sharing your location in Find My
Start sharing your ongoing location using Messages
Tap the , then scroll down and tap Location.
Choose to share your location for an hour, until the end of the day, indefinitely, or a custom time period. The person or people in that conversation can tap on your location message to find you on a map and get directions to your ongoing location.
Learn more about sharing your location in Messages
When you share your ongoing location
The people who you share with can:
Find your Live Location in Find My, Maps, your contact card in Contacts, and by tapping your name at the top of a Messages conversation.
See your general location under your name in a Messages conversation and see your Live Location by tapping your name. When you share your location in a group message, everyone in the group message can see your location.
Get directions to your location in Maps.
Set up a notification so that they know when you arrive at or leave a location of their choosing. If someone sets a location-based notification, you get a notification. If they attempt to set a recurring notification (for example, if they want to be notified every time that you leave work), you have to accept the invitation first.
When you share your ongoing location, you can also:
Share your location via satellite when you're somewhere without Wi-Fi and cellular coverage.
Use Precision Finding to get help finding each other's precise location if you both have an iPhone 15 or later.
Stop sharing your location
You can turn off location sharing in Find My, or stop sharing with a person or group in Find My, Maps, or Messages. You can also use Safety Check to quickly stop sharing information if your personal safety is at risk.
If you delete the Find My app, people that you've shared your location with can still see your location. If you want to stop sharing your location, reinstall Find My and follow the steps to stop sharing.
Safety Check
If your personal safety is at risk, you can use Safety Check on iPhone to quickly stop sharing your information, including location information. You can also review and update sharing with individual people and apps.
Learn how Safety Check on iPhone works to keep you safe
Temporarily stop sharing your location with everyone
Open Find My.
Select the Me tab.
Turn off Share My Location.
When you turn on Share My Location again, the people that you've previously shared with will once again be able to see your location.
Stop sharing your location with one person
When you stop sharing your location with someone in one app, you stop sharing your location across apps. The person that you stop sharing with won't be notified.
Find My
Select the People tab.
Choose the person that you want to stop sharing your location with.
Tap the .
Scroll down and tap Stop Sharing My Location. Or, under My Location, tap Hide Location to stop sharing your location for the rest of the day.
Messages
Open a conversation with the person or group that you've shared your location with.
Tap the name of the person or group at the top of the conversation.
Tap Stop Sharing My Location. Or tap Hide Location to stop sharing your location for the rest of the day.